PPP Ezine Vol1, Issue 1: The Yellow Streetlight by Mrinalini Raj

My first memory

Of that yellow light

On the street, is of years ago;

When I walked half-miles

through that dark

Clutching my mother on the

Left and Papa on my right.

 

Nor were there hundred-homes

Then, neither the Cackling kids

I now hear on the lane outside.

 

Today, when I click,

And stop mid-way on feeling

Again the yellow around,

Often I am asked, why this

‘Love’ ( if you agree).

 

No, I don’t know, why

Your ‘LED’ hurts me, yes, I hear

your issues with

The hundred-Watts. I know

When you say it is hot today,

I see my aunt lying sick

Next-room, ‘It is the heat’, they

say. Your concerns for the

green, I know.

 

While we walked through

The dark, there was

This yellow-street light,

Only one, which

We met always. In that

Quiet there, were three more

With us. Laughs and Smiles

Took shapes.
Years piled, and I saw more

Of her, loving a little more

Of that shadowy-bright.

 

Today, She leaves the trails for her

Young whites, vacating all slow.

Maybe these Nights are

her last.

Leave a Reply

