The Elephant who Loves Books by Daginne Aignend

I know, I always have been

a beast of burden

Because of my strength

and my patience

A friendly character with

a stubborn perseverance

I’m a vegetarian,

no nourishment by cadavers for me

Still, I’m muscular,

perhaps a tiny little over-weighted

My only weakness is

my hunger for knowledge

An unquenchable desire

to fill my brain cells

with every shred,

every snippet of information

My intelligence exceeds most IQ standards

and that’s why I have decided

to carry exclusively

the written word on my back

My burden shall exist out of parchment,

ink and the wisdom and figments of

those who contribute to the

world of aesthetic writing

 

 

Leave a Reply

