Life Together by John Grey

For years

your mouth has put me on hold,

and your armpits have terrified me

like the warden in a prison for boys

and your breath, intermingling with mine,

has clanged like chains in my lungs.

 

Two decades and counting

and I have got so

that I’m so afraid of the cold,

only your body can warm me.

Domesticity – there’s no known cure.

 

If you wrote a poem,

it would likely read the same as mine.

A life, so deserted by its legs,

it’s incapable of moving.

A circulatory system doing just enough

to keep you languid.

 

Imagine if we didn’t love each other.

Imagine a petal and a paperclip

dropped into a stagnant pool of water.

  

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

